The Christian Metal Realm
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Prayers Requested - Spiritual Attack

+5
StevenCressler
KaramKaram
Pethead
MagnusPrime
scottmitchell74
9 posters

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Go down

Prayers Requested - Spiritual Attack Empty Prayers Requested - Spiritual Attack

Post by scottmitchell74 Tue Mar 19, 2024 7:08 am

Folks, 
  I've been coming to the CMR for over 18 years. I consider this my online family. I respect you all so much for your insight and wisdom. I need prayer .  

I'm prone to anxiety and depression. 

My issue is that I lose confidence in all my thoughts and beliefs: as a father, husband, worker, etc... The one time I had anxiety and depression acutely a few years ago I couldn't do math, lost vocab, lost interest in everything.  It was bad. 

This time isn't nearly as severe... 

But the terrifying kicker is: my faith. I can't think straight.  I can't "connect the dots" so-to-speak about Who and what I believe in. I feel like a fake Christian; Spiritual Imposter Syndrome.

I've been a believer for 36 years. I know who I am, but when this happens I start having what might be considered a form of scrupulosity.  I worry about how many people are going to hell. I struggle with the very concept of hell. It always comes to this topic and that causes a spiral. I'm scared of never getting better.

The thing is, after the acute one a few years ago (my first attack that I know of) I kept praying to "come all the way back, and then some." And eventually - to my amazement  - I did. The last three years were perhaps my strongest in the Faith.